The Room – Restless Fate (album release)

After a lengthy hiatus, Liverpool post-punk / indie rock stalwarts The Room are back to release the first new music recorded in 38 years. Originally formed in 1979 by singer Dave Jackson and bassist Becky Stringer, their new album Restless Fate was recorded and mixed at Ark Studios in Liverpool and co-produced by Steve Powell (Michael Head & the Red Elastic Band, Autour De Lucie, Echo & The Bunnymen). The Album is out today on 9×9 Records. Restless Fate picks up where the band left off. At times shimmering, at times haunting, their melodic blend of progressive, alternative pop and sultry post-punk is just as relevant and captivating now as when they broke up in 1985. An exploration of man’s search for meaning and the dysfunction of the human condition, there is still a relentless optimism at the core of this record.

The video for the album’s lead single The Drift, was created by Mark Jordan and inspired by long peaceful walks during lockdown, contrasted with a sense of inevitable drifting apart and loss. Dave Jackson reflects on how people come and go from our lives over the years in a beautiful melancholic tale of slow loss.

The Room (© Dave Jackson)

The Room earned the support of John Peel, with whom they recorded four sessions and production support from Television’s Tom Verlaine and John Porter (Roxy Music, The Smiths, Billy Bragg, Microdisney) on their In Evil Hour (1984). Recordings from their two sessions for Janice Long’s BBC Radio One program and Saturday Live would be used for the band’s final release while together – the Jackpot Jack EP (1985). In 2004, the LTM label released the No Dream (Best Of) compilation, followed by the Indoor Fireworks LP, recorded in 1982 and released via Red Flame Records in 2005. Following the band’s split, Becky and Dave went on to form several other bands: Benny Profane, Dust and Dead Cowboys. Dave has also recorded under his own name and, most recently, he issued a string of releases as The Room in the Wood (with Paul Cavanagh). Since lockdown, Dave and Becky reunited to record their new album under their original name, joined by guitarist Darren Brown, Becky’s son Ethan Kyme on keyboards and drummer Tom McCabe.

Restless Fate TRACK LIST
01   The Drift    
02   Red Admiral    
03   Sleepless    
04   Kingdom  
05   Time Comes    
06   The Reeds  
07    Dust Motes  
08    Mirror World    
09    Crying Face    
10   Cursed Islands    
11   Bull In The Doorway

Restless Fate is out now via Liverpool-based 9×9 Records. Look HERE for more Information on The Room.



Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo di

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Connessione a %s...