(Make Me a) TRISTE© Mixtape Episode 93: Cloth


Cloth is a minimal, alternative rock band made up of twins Rachael and Paul Swinton from Glasgow, Scotland. Playing shows since around 2018, their first record Cloth came out in Novembre 2019 on Last Night From Glasgow.
Recently signing to Mogwai’s legendary Rock Action record label (whose roster includes The Twilight Sad, Kathryn Joseph and Arab Strap), their new EP Low Sun was released in October, 2022 and was accompanied by a UK tour. Having been previously shortlisted for the prestigious SAY Award for their debut album, they wanted to explore new sonic textures and grander arrangements with Low Sun.
Cloth wrote the EP mostly during lockdown and feel that the tracks are at once bleak and beautiful, communicating both displacement and hope – emotions felt keenly by so many during that time. 

Continua a leggere

(Make Me a) TRISTE© Mixtape Episode 92: Melby


Melby is a Stockholm four-piece (“playing some kind of indie/folk/psych/art pop maybe?“) composed of Matilda Wiezell, Are Engen Steinsholm, David Jehrlander and Teo Jernkvist. Their debut album None Of This Makes Me Worry was released in 2019, on Rama Lama records and took them on tour in Scandinavia, Germany and the UK. The band had already started to work on some new songs after the debut came out, but when the pandemic struck, having just been about to head out on tour to Germany, they were left back in Stockholm, and, unable to meet up in the early months, they started to work separately, mailing song ideas back and forth. When things opened up a little, they reconvened back in the studio with long-time engineer Alexander Eldefors, but having begun separately, and still being a bit restricted in their ability to play together, the writing process had morphed into something different. Instead of playing the songs together, they made full use of the studio to construct them piece-by-piece. Now they’re back with Looks Like A Map, again on Rama Lama Records.

Continua a leggere

(Make Me a) TRISTE© Mixtape Episode 91: Meaning Of Tales

Meaning Of Tales (©Justine Roussel)

Meaning Of Tales is a French duo composed of Carl Egger and Théophile Huau Armani. They met during an evening with mutual friends. Carl struck a virtuoso chord shape that only he knows and the ears of Théophile stand to attention. The call of harmony is too strong for this fan of the Fleet Foxes and those groups of the 70s. Spontaneously Théo joins the guitarist to put his voice on a melody that seems destined for him only. They didn’t know it yet but this musical infatuation, this instant complicity had just given birth to Meaning of Tales, the first French group signed by the Anglo-French label Violette Records, home to Studio Electrophonique and Tigers and Flies and a haven of seasoned songwriters like Michael Head and Jim McCulloch. Carl followed classical music study from an early age and jazz training, while Théo is a English indie rock fan. Driven by an urgency, two days after that fateful evening the two accomplices meet again to share their desire for discovering new musical paths around their mutual influences (Beach Boys, Andy Shauf, Nick Drake, Glenn Hansard, etc.). From prolific writing sessions in a former painter’s studio to inspired Normandy rural residences, evenings by firesides and improvisations without forethought, Carl and Théo quickly get caught up in the game and record six songs that are passed around among close friends and immediately seduce Matt Lockett and Pascal Blua at Violette Records. Their debut elp, Where There’s Life, There’s a Dream was released on October 21st on Violette Records.

Continua a leggere

(Make Me a) TRISTE© Mixtape Episode 90: Jade Imagine

Jade Imagine (©Hugo Kohler)

Jade Imagine are Tim Harvey, Madeline Lo-Booth and Jade McInally with Marcel Tussie (Stella Donnely, Rolling Blackouts C.F) on drum duties for the recording. Before founding Jade Imagine, front-person and key songwriter Jade McInally had been a stalwart of the indie scene for more than a decade. After winding her way to Melbourne from somewhere consistently sunny, McInally cut her live-performer teeth with her own electronic project Tantrums, before playing in the bands of local favourites Jess Cornelius (Teeth and Tongue) and Jess Ribeiro. After signing with Milk! Records, Jade Imagine’s debut EP ‘What the Fuck Was I Thinking’ was released in April 2017.
Following the release of the EP, Jade Imagine played with The Pretenders, Angel Olsen, Alvvays, Lucy Dacus (US), Stella Donnelly and Julia Jacklin.
Jade Imagine released their debut album Basic Love in August 2019, released on Courtney Barnett’s Milk! Records in Australia and New Zealand and Marathon Artists for Rest of World. Cold Memory, their sophomore album, was written and recorded between Melbourne, Warrnambool and Fremantle, Western Australia and is out now via Marathon Artists. 

Continua a leggere

(Make Me a) TRISTE© Mixtape Episode 89: The Leaf Library

The Leaf Library (©Emily Mary Barnett)

The Leaf Library are formed around the core group of singer Kate Gibson, former Saloon and Singing Adams guitarist Matt Ashton, guitarist SJ Nelson, drummer Lewis Young and bass player Gareth Jones. They have released three studio albums –Daylight Versions, (wiaiwya 2015), About Minerals (Innerspace Travels, 2019) and The World Is A Bell (wiaiwya, 2019)- as well a number of electronic and experimental albums and EPs, remix compilations and long form tracks. They have also released five Monument CDRs; an on-going series of experimental solo and side projects on their Objects Forever imprint (full band discography at theleaflibrary.com). The band have collaborated with musicians as diverse as Alasdair MacLean of The Clientele, singer Ed Dowie, noise group Far Rainbow and string collective Iskra Strings, and have provided music for a number of exhibitions, films and performances. A collaborative album with Japanese artist Teruyuki Kurihara is due in late 2022 on the Mille Plateaux label. An active live group, the more delicate sound world of their records is replaced by a much noisier and intense experience, assisted by the addition of vocalist/percussionist Melinda Bronstein, saxophonist Daniel Fordham (The Drink, Steven Adams and the French Drops) and flugelhorn player Laura Copsey of fellow drone pop travellers Firestations. Library Music: Volume One, which will be out tomorrow, October 28th on wiaiwya, is a sixteen track double LP documenting the North London drone pop band’s 7” singles, one-offs and compilation tracks spanning the first 14 years of the group’s existence.

Continua a leggere